2017

Time feels close, like it’s hovering nearby. Perhaps it’s the New Year (welcome, 2017!), perhaps it’s how close to the mid-century mark I am.

So this is the year I make my goals and try to hit every single one of them, or at least make progress. Try for real, not just make a plan, work for a little while towards it, then give up when it’s no longer convenient.

Life is not about convenience.  Life isn’t easy, and the things that are worth having definitely are not easy peasy lemon squeezy.

So here goes:

 

There are 3 print publications (magazines) I want to make it into:

Parenting (specific article— now I need to learn how to pitch an article)

Oprah (just cuz, wow! It’s Oprah’s Magazine!)

The Magazine of Science Fiction and Fantasy (and this, the big one. I’ve gotten a personalized rejection, but… need to make it in!)

 

On the novel front, I need to find my inner novelist and let her out. I did ok for November (10,000 words), but the novel itself was too dark. I do not want my writing to depress me. Realistically, I am not currently at a place in time where I can write that story, about a mentally ill character, without it affecting my mental health. I have enough stress, and well… I want to write what I want to read.

For my personal writing, I I will continue to send out my little ray’s of sunshine into the world, as well as start to keep a journal. During Christmas, I updated my address list so a few more people have been added into the mix of cards. It’s something I really enjoy, and as I said— it’s my way of spreading sunshine.

For travel, this year I want to go to the following places:

 

San Diego

Moma, San Francisco

Japanese Tea Garden, San Francisco

De Young Museum, San Francisco

Monterey

Lake Tahoe

Santa Cruz J

 

I need more adventures, especially with my boy.

 

So. I have a plan set, a goal. Now to start accomplishing them J

 

What goals do you have for the new year?

Leave a Reply

