Writing Technology 

Raise your hand if you’ve ever written your story on a typewriter…. and know the frustration of having to retype the whole thing because of edits. I always handwrote the stories first, but never quite got it right on the first go on the typewriter.

Next for me was a computer with Word. I fell in love… still love that program. For a long time, I wrote directly into the program, fingers flying. Overjoyed that my fingers could finally keep up with my brain.

Then the words stopped. 

To get them back, I had to coax them, tease them. Play with them again. Hence my addiction to a certain type of notebook. Spiral, so I don’t break the binding when flipping it over on itself for ease of writing, small enough to fit in my purse but large enough to cradle my ideas (it is a large purse lol).

I don’t love, or even like, bringing out my laptop. I don’t have a fixed place for it, and normally end up using it on my bed. One of the few downsides of living in another’s house. Although nothing has ever been said, I try to contain my stuff to my areas.Last summer, when it was the priceline and I, the laptop had its very own place. 

I haven’t been regular on here, and I need to change that. But still, the problem of where to set up the laptop daunted me. It was 5:30 am when I started writing this. I don’t want to wake the sleeping child, or get in the way for when my dad comes out of his room. 

So I am writing this mornings post on my tablet. It’s actually a Nook, one of the fancy ones. I don’t like the keyboard… but I can live with it. 

Let’s see if thisnworks. If not, it may be time for a conversation about being able to  set the laptop up somewhere permanently. That is not near my bed.
What is your favorite part of technology for writing?

Leave a Reply

