Growing into being

Sometimes, the writing part is easy. The ideas come, and the words flow and suddenly you’ve started a word garden.

My word garden is sprouting left and right. But I have a secret.

I’m a terrible gardener.

I have a brown thumb.

So I have done what every good little writer would do. I went to the library and checked out a 5 books, and have been in contact with another writer I admire and trust. Because here’s the thing. I have all this writing, have 2 published titles out in the market…

and I suck at marketing.

pppphhhhhtttttt.

I can come up with a million ways to promote my friend’s series. A product at work. The pot luck at church. But when it comes to me? To my writing? I’m having a hard time marketing myself.

Apparently Amazon has pages for writers. Who knew? And my Facebook Page (Wynelda Ann Deaver ) needs help too. Attention. Care. Time. I also need to go through and edit through the lists I subscribe to, the market lists, and pare them down to the ones that have markets I can submit to. And get paid. There will still be places that I will allow to publish something for free… just going to be a bit pickier about them.

I have a story coming out in a new anthology, and as soon as I have a cover and a release date, I’ll get more info to you guys. Look— I’ve known about this aacceptance for a while and I never told you guys! Sheesh!

I need to do better for my word garden. If no one knows the path, the flowers get lonely.

 

What part of the writing experience seems to be just outside your grasp?

 

 

Leave a Reply

