Cost of E-Submissions

There used to be an elegance to submitting a story or essay or novel. You printed it out, had your minister of choice bless the manuscript, placed it along with a carefully worded cover letter and/or bribe, and mailed it out to your editor of choice.

Currently everything that I have published I submitted electronincally.

There was a time when I mailed things out. Of course I did. The closest I came with mail in submissions was an honourable mention in the Writer’s Digest Contest.

There’s actually a lot right with email and site submissions. As a writer, you get to get your work into the editor’s hands quicker and with a lot less postage. There’s a great feeling when you hit the send / submit button.

But.

But.

For me at least, there’s 2 immediate consequences. The reason why I am adamant about getting copy back from my beta readers is because I no longer print out my manuscripts. My stories reside in my computer, and it’s not very often that I print them out. Yet I know that I find more typos and problems with a hard copy format than on a computer screen. I think I’m going to print out my last story, see if I can see the bigger picture…..

Then there’s the other thing. Living with the internet has made us greedy for information. Or answers. Or something. I just submitted a short story to F&SF, and even though I’m number 513 in the que, I keep checking! Why? There are 512 people ahead of me and the poor editor is probably asleep right now!!!  (Although obviously not because I’ve gone down to 503—- 10 down and 502 to go!)

Yah, see. I’ll be tracking the submission for a good long time. If I have emailed out the story, I keep checking and checking for a response. Even when it’s only been an hour since I sent it.

Then I check my spam folder.

I think I’m going to have to reign myself in. Take a deep breath and move on. Because, well….

I’ll hear when I hear.

Until then, It’s time to write!

Except for you, my lovelies! Did you know that Mocha Memoirs Press, LLC has an open call for submissions! You can find the submission guidelines here  And yes! It is electronic submissions! Wheee!

Leave a Reply

