Guest Post: Amy Braun and Juggling the Writing Life

Hello, My Lovelies! I want to introduce you to one of my fellow pirates, the lovely Amy Braun!  She’s on twitter @amybraunauthor or you can find her blog here. Avast, Ye Airships! will be out on February 26, and you can find lots more information on it here.

Thank you for having me guest post, Wynelda! You asked me to offer my thoughts about juggling writing and life, which I thankfully know how to manage.

The Internet is the best tool for writing advice. You can find tips on how to create a story, draw inspiration, technical and publishing techniques, any and everything you might need. But there’s one piece of advice that I always see, and hold higher than all the others.

Write as much as you can.

Now, I’m not married and have no children, but I do have a full time job that takes up my entire day. So with every second of spare time I have, I write. It’s become a habit, something I’ve integrated into my life so completely that not writing will actually make me uncomfortable. When I have my breaks or have run out of things to do at work, I type on my phone (not the handiest tool, but it’s less conspicuous than my laptop). It doesn’t matter if I don’t use what I end up writing. The idea is to do it. Make it part of your routine, and you’ll see that you can’t stop thinking about it. You want to complete your tasks quick and efficiently to get back to your words.

I also started setting goals for myself. My weekend falls on Mondays and Tuesdays, which I use to get massive amounts of work done. On a good day, I can edit through an entire story or write around 10,000 words.

The best advice I can give is to simply make writing part of your life. Not as a job, but as something you can use to unwind and release your creativity. I find that no matter how stressful my day is, if I start writing, I feel better. The words come out and if I get writers block, I move onto something else. I never, ever, ever stop writing. These days, it’s not so much a habit as it is an integral part of my life. And I wouldn’t want it any other way.

Leave a Reply

