Raising a Writer

My son, 8 years old, helps me with my writing. Since he was about 4, he would dictate stories to me, pacing back and forth, waving his hands madly. He doesn’t do it quite so often any more, but he does like to help me with the stories I write. Especially with Broken.

Now, however, I’ve been in edits. And then came the updated author bio. I hate writing about myself. I dread it. It’s looped in with how I suck at interviews.

My hero, to the rescue. I started, and then he took over—

Wynelda Ann Deaver has been writing stories since she learned to read in first grade. Her son says the writing helps her calm down, and the good part of it is the support she gets from MMP. It’s nice of you guys to buy her books because we like money. Well thanks.My mom will probably write many more books for you.She told me that she will. Have a nice time reading our books!

You notice how it went from “her” books to “our books”? Writing is a team sport. I know many people who will tell you that it is a solitary, lonely road… but I’m here to tell you that you can have a team, too. Maybe in the grand scheme of things they are supporting players (beta readers, coffee makers, those who shove us in the shower with a cup of coffee), but you know what? That’s ok. Still part of the team. Because we couldn’t do what we do with out them.

Without my son to egg me on, I’m not sure I would have finished my story collection (coming out in December! woohoo!). Oh, i probably would have had more time to write without him hanging around… but when he was gone on break for two weeks I crumbled. Could. Not. Write.  I did get caught up on my sleep 🙂 And as I mentioned before, he did actually help with Broken.

But dang, my little boy got ideas!

Now, we’re getting ready to get our new stories out into the world, and as soon as I have more information I’ll get that out to you.

Ta for now, my lovelies!

Leave a Reply

