Back to Work

I go back to work on Wednesday and I’m excited about it. I’m excited about other things, as well.Things they are a changing.

There’s the passing on of knowledge, which will happen but needs to be deferred for a small time. I’m excited about it and cant wait to start, but will of course wait patiently.

Something a little weird happened while I’ve been off work recuperating. One is that I realize that I am currently a sprinter when it comes to writing. I would love to write long, involved epic fantasy novels but it’s not going to happen. At least, not right now. Right now, I’m still doing a lot of my writing longhand, in snatches that come in 10-15 minute bursts. If I’m lucky, i have a few hours to devote to the keyboard and will write that way. But if I’m stuck, or just starting a story… Out the notebooks come. I like them. They like me. The length of my stories has less to do with any of that than with the fact that the stories that are popping out of me are shorts. I can live with that. I’ve always been a fairly quick writer– I don’t agonize over that anymore either. Being a real writer only involves actually getting the stories out, right?

But something really interesting keeps popping up on me. Free webinars on copy writing.

Hmmm….

I’ve taken two so far (one last month and one last week), and am about to make another one on Tuesday. So. I’m thinking this is a pretty good thing. Because God keeps dropping  it in my lap I should probably pay attention. Perhaps as something that could at least help with the hospital bills, but hopefully become my full time job. Or main money maker. Who knows? But you know, there’s so much I want to do in life… and none of it has me chained to a computer or phone all day every day. Barring finding a multi-millionare to marry on the quick, this might be the way to go.

If something lands in your lap that many times, you kind of have to take that leap of faith, don’t you? It would be different if I didn’t have experience writing copy for businesses, but I’ve done that at my current job. I’ve been published in trade magazines both under my own name, and with no by-line just to try and drive business. If all I had ever attempted to do was fiction, I’d be very leery of this. Timid, even. But I’ve done this work for years.

And apparently have been valuing that talent too lightly.

Do any of you do this for a living? How did you start? Do you enjoy it?

5 thoughts on “Back to Work

    • I saw them through the emails that Writers Digest sends out. They were all through AWAI. The ones I took were all free, and they were ok… just very general. They never got down to the brass tacks. And be prepared for the… if you liked this, then join (or buy). It does do great for generalities, and they do have free things to read on their website, too, but i don’t think I would have been happy if I had paid for them. I got a few great nuggets of info, though.

Leave a Reply

