Book Review: Fools Assassin by Robin Hobb

fools assassin

I told you a while ago to go forth and buy Robin Hobb’s Fitz & the Fool books. Did you do it my lovelies? Did you? Because I’m going to go right ahead and get my geek on over this book.

It starts a bit slow. I advised you to get the previous 2 trilogies under your belts because if you have, then the beginning of this will be fantastic. It’s like reading the happily ever after part of your favorite novel, except… umm… it’s Robin Hobb and the first in a new trilogy so it’s going to get bumpy. And boy howdy does it. By the end of the book, I was howling for book two already, and three pretty please because PLEASE DON’T LEAVE ME HANGING HERE LIKE THIS. (Note: she is one of the few authors that I will read a complete series, waiting (im)patiently for the followup. Normally I wait for the whole thing to be published hehehe).

There are themes that are being woven throughout this novel that harken back to the other novels. Fitz’s natural tendency to be caught up in his own head, the feeling of aloneness, being pitted against everyone else, the other, and gender identity whispers through it.

I read this as a galley copy, but have already bought my very own copy for myself so I can love it, hug it and call it my own.

 

What books or series do you geek out on?

Leave a Reply

