And Hera Laughed

So I have this story that’s been perking in me… and I started it. Stopped it. Started again… Put it down. It’s been this way for a while.

And then I stuck my heroine on a lonely road in the middle of no where with a small child in the car, and something amazing happened.

It snapped into a different story.

Originally, it was going to be a grown up riff off of “The Secret Garden”. I love that book. Farnces Hodgson Burnette is one of the reasons why I longed to enter the world of books and live there.

And then Hera Laughed.

Yes, that Hera. Apparently, the cast of one woman and her child adrift in the world wasn’t enough. Oh no, I am going to have all of  Mount Olympus in the mix. Especially Hera and Zuess.

And no, he’s not like that anymore. Or at least with this heroine.

SO. I went to the book store yesterday and told them I needed “Bullfinche’s”. The lady looked at me and nodded, asked me to follow her. Once we got to the section, she told me very softly that sometimes they didn’t have it because they’d sell their only copy…

“It’s ok,” I told her. “I just need a reference on mythology.”

It really isn’t ok, though. Cuz you know, it’s BULLFINCH’S. Do you know Bullfinch’s? It’s only the bestest book on mythology EVER. I picked it up and read one of the many sections on folklore, Pyramus and Thisbe, and was reminded yet again…

That Shakespear was a theif.

hehehehehehehehe….

I love Shakespear. Don’t get all mad because of the above sentence, either. Even Bullfinch says that there is a play based on the above mentioned fable. If you want to know which one… Go buy Bullfinche’s Mythology by Thomas Bullfinch.

The research for this new story is going to be sooo much fun!

Leave a Reply

