It’s almost the happiest time of year!

I am a sucker for all things Christmas. I am the one who wants to put up the tree the day after Thanksgiving… and in my very first apartment I might not have taken down my tree until almost Valentines day… Hehehehe.

I watch Hallmark movies, and the Lifetime Christmas ones, too. (Only the Christmas ones, I don’t like all the dude killed/beat/whatever’d  his wife and she/her sister/ mother got revenge.) Satna Paws, Santa Clause, the movie, A Charlie Brown Christmas… you get the idea.

So it was with great pleasure that I started my holiday reading. Now, the disclaimer– I had ARC’s on What Happens at Christmas by Victoria Alexander and Babycakes by Donna Kauffman from Kensington books.

What Happens at Christmas was written so well, I went and bought His Mistress by Christmas for my nook as soon as I was done. I loved them both. I haven’t laughed like that… well, since last Christmas’ batch of books. Where she really excells, though, with both novels is when the farce that is going on in the characters’ lives brings in the family. It is so hilarious… Hire some orphans for a “real” Dickens christmas? Done! These novels both bring so much laughter, as well as the heartwarming bringing together of the family (whether bought and paid for or via blood), I did find it interesting that while both heroines were widows, they each had very different ideas on remarrying.

Babycakes is not a traditional holiday novel, but I think it does well. Kit has lost everything, her family, her family business, even the family house… And all because she trusted someone who *should* have had her back. Morgan has fled his high flautin family’s influence to try and raise his neice as normally as possible.

The Thanksgiving scene is one I haven’t ever seen before, but fits perfectly and illustrates perfectly that while the people in this little island might not have blood relations around… They definately have family. Because sometimes, just sometimes, the family you need isn’t the one you were born with. But you have them anyways.

Babycakes is one of those novels that sneaks up on you. You pick it up, thinking ok… I’ll give this a try…. and three hours later you’re saying “whaaaa?” I love it when that happens!

 

So yes, I got my geek on in all it’s holiday glory. You’ll be glad to know that I only have 1 holiday sweat shirt (poinsettas on a green sweatshirt with 80’s style preppy collar.. love it).

Next time will be on both editing and ending. For while these novels shine… some…. not so much. And I may break my rule about not saying the name of the novels, because I kind of want to see if it was a different expereince for others (or, to be honest, they left a chapter off the nook).

Ta for now, my loverlies!

One thought on “It’s almost the happiest time of year!

Leave a Reply

