Life Catches Up

And so do I, eventually, hehehe. Here’s the current list of who we’re going to read through today: Christina Dodd, Kristen Callihan, Rosanna Chiofalo, Lisa Kleypas and Lisa George. Yup, I have FAILED in my attempt to keep you guys up to date and current. But we’re fixing that!

 

Lisa Kleypas, Dream Lake. Pubbed by St. Martin’s Griffin.  I loved this novel. The characters are flawed, and our hero has acquired a ghost…. A smart ass, tell it like it is ghost who is not happy to have gotten saddled with an alcoholic. And while the ghost has been living a half-life, you start to realize that those who are living and breathing are also living half a life. It’s a great book. (Recommended by Eloisa James in the Barnes & Noble newsletter)

Rosana Chiofalo, Bella Fortuna. Kensington Fiction (ARC copy provided). One of the things I love about this book (and I have to admit that I don’t know if it made it to the fully published version– it was in my ARC and if it’s not in yours let me know and I’ll get it to you LOL) is a letter from John Scognamilglio, Editor in Chief, about the selection process and how he feels about the book. Don’t get me wrong, the book was good: well written, paced great and the main romantic hero clicked with the heroine well. It’s just… Haven’t you ever wondered “What goes through an editor’s mind?” I have. Lots and lots of times.

Firelight, Kristen Callihan. Published by Forever.  Firelight was a great take on the paranormal romance by a new author. The mystery of Archer’s affliction kept me going for quite a while. I just figured he was a vampire, but no. It is something much more than that. Keeping me guessing about something like that is one of my pet peeves— either do it well, as Firelight did, or just tell me. Cuz most of the time I figure it out in the beginning and it just annoys me when the writer tries too hard. Callihan pulled off effortlessly what so many fail to do: offer clues without giving it away.

Wilder, Christina Dodd. Signet Select Paranormal Romance. This novel is part of a series called The Chosen Ones. It is, however, a great stand alone retelling of Beauty and the Beast. Action packed, with such a great romance. And characters who really do choose the right thing, who do the right thing, even when it’s so painful for themselves. I’ve been reading Dodd since forever, and am very glad of it! Although I haven’t been reading her paranormal, that is probably changing right now! (Again, recommended by Eloisa James in the Barnes & Noble newsletter)

Demon Hunting in the Deep South, Lexi George. ARC provided by Kensington. I liked this one, thought the voice was carried out well. The pacing right near the end was a little off… probably only for a chapter, but it was off a little bit. Of course, we’re also talking about a book I ripped through in 2-3 days…. I only put it down for a day. I do wish that I had read the first book in the series, but it wasn’t needed to get through this one.

Which is a great point. Have you noticed that on the ones that are a part of a series it behooves you, authors, to make them STAND ALONE as well as attractive to series’ fans.  Even though we love you, we may not read all your books otherwise.

I know that of the above books only 1 is *not* a paranormal romance, so will look for something to surprise you with next time. Maybe even something about my writing.

He.

He.

He.

Stranger things have happened.

 

 

One thought on “Life Catches Up

  1. I for one would love to hear more about your writing, hee hee hee… 🙂

    I’m in the middle of publishing a series (actually, more like two trilogies, but all the same characters, so they are lumped under one heading); I published two stand alone’s between #’s 3 & 4 because I was bone-tired of that sprawling clan. Not having written a series before (This one snuck up on me, completely unexpected!), I’m glad to have achieved it, or maybe just glad to have finished it is a better way of saying. But as I write a wide gamut of genres, I have no idea if it behooves to throw in some stand alone’s.

    But maybe I’m totally off track from what you were getting at. Anyways, that’s my two cents! 🙂

Leave a Reply

