Good Things Coming Your Way

Good Things coming your way.

As some of you know, I am the beneficiary of ARC’s from Kensington Books. In return for these, I give good blog on those deserving of such LOL. There are a few coming out in March and April that I want to make sure you’re on the look-out for. And as always, my creed still stands: If I don’t like it, I won’t read it all the way through and will not pass on to you. ALL the books on this blog have been read & enjoyed by yours truly.

 

Curses (A F****ed- Up Fairy Tale), By J.A. Kazimer, Kensington Books. (PUBLISHED IN MARCH) This book skirts the edge of amusing and annoying in a good way. Take a fairy tale, tell it from the point of view of a cursed villain, shake well and there you have it. Written in the style of a hard-boiled P.I. story, with the subject matter at hand, it just cracked me up to no end.

 

Words Get In The Way, By Nan Rossiter, Kensington Books (COMING IN APRIL 2012) This book was a sweet read, but the thing that first intrigued me was that here was a single mother raising an autistic child. My Princeling doesn’t have autism, but there are some similarities in the symptoms. Like Auditory Sensory Integration Disorder. I have to admit I came unglued when Callie (the heroine)  took her 3 year old son to go view fire words.

For those of you who aren’t familiar with it, Auditory Sensory Integration Disorder does not bode well for fireworks. I was sooo angry on behalf of this fictional child. Why on earth would she do that? The kid is three years old, she’s been dealing with her son’s issues…. Well. Take a deep breath. Everyone’s journey in mother-hood is different. There’s also a wealth of difference between a mother that is twenty something (Callie) and forty something (me). But the scene where she begs the question, “Why can’t you just be normal??!!” Wow, that one hit home.

As an aside, every once in a while, like standing in line at Walmart and Ray catches me trying to pull a fast one on him… I’ll ask him “What happened to that poor, deaf, retarded boy I was supposed to have?” (And yes, those words were actually used by a school to me about my son). “You don’t have him, Mommy, you have me and I’m smart.” Well yes, you are. (I quit doing that when the lady behind me almost choked on her gum. Not sure if she was angry with me or laughing… I choose laughing).

There needs to be more books like this one. Books that brings the plight of kids that are different, and their parents, into the homes of others. I think I’ll do one on dyspraxia, as it’s already figuring in my candy garden story.

 

Buried in Buttercream, A Savannah Reid Mystery, by G.A. McKevett (COMING IN APRIL 2012). This one  is funny and well-paced. All poor Savannah wants is to get married, dang it. So why are arsonists, murders and natural disasters raining on her parade? Add in the eclectic mix of her large extended family in town for the wedding, and staying in her itty bitty house… And you have a book that rocks along nicely. It has a nice balance of every day stuff (body image, family rants) against the mystery. I finished this book before I knew it, zipped right along. And that, my dear friends, is a very good thing.

Hope you all enjoy as much as I did!

2 thoughts on “Good Things Coming Your Way

Leave a Reply

