Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close

Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close (Movie Tie-in Edition)

By: Jonathan Safran Foer, Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt.

 

After saying that I stay away from books that have been made into movies, here is my second one. I hope you can forgive me. Truth is, I don’t know if I could forgive myself for *not* reading this book. It was that good.

It starts out with a whimsy about a teapot. It’s what drew me in and had me throwing the book into the cart in Target (that and the fact that I knew the only 4 new books I have at home are duds). The teapot is one of many inventions that the young narrator comes up with in his quest to safeguard those he loves and retain his closeness to his father, who died during the 9/11 terrorist attacks.

Again, it’s a novel told in threes. Am I just  attracted to that? Or just noticing it more now? This one is told first person from Oskar, a young boy, and through the letters of his grandparents. It’s also full of color, pictures, weird pages… must have cost a bundle to print. I have to admit, I didn’t get the chapter with the red lined areas… Too much work for me LOL.

But the novel is beautiful, the writing great even as the format of the book challenges the way we normally write books. They do add another dimension to the novel, make it interactive. I searched, just as young Oskar must have, for his dad’s name on the pages in the art store. It’s an amazing technique to bring the reader right into the action.

 

Next time, I’m gonna get me some of my favorites out of the book case and turn myself loose on some of my all- time favorites. There’s Elizabeth Haydon, Carol Berg, Lynn Flewelling… We’re going to get our  fantasy on during the up- coming weeks.

 

Leave a Reply

