Magazine Review: Fantasy & Science Fiction

One of the things I’m most passionate about is reading. It comes in second only to my son, Ray. And on a bad day… well, nothing helps settle the soul like a good story. So I’ve decided that this blog is going to change, just a little. Since I read so many books, magazines, etc… And I love ‘em, hate ‘em and can’t live without them, I’ll devote more time to the blog and books.

To start with we’re going to peruse the January/February edition of Fantasy & Science Fiction (the magazine). To be fair, I’m going to let you know that I received an ARC (Advance Readers Copy). I’m also going to let you know that I firmly believe that there is not enough time for bad books. If it doesn’t catch my attention, I set it aside.

I did not set aside this magazine. It kept falling open to the story “Scrap Dragon” by Naomi Kritzer. As an avowed dragon enthusiast, I couldn’t resist. But it wasn’t the dragon that kept me reading. Oh no, I was hooked by the second sentence in the story (which is actually a question). Anyone who has ever told a story off the cuff to a child is going to appreciate this one. I was laughing out loud—the play between narrator and listener was an integral part of the story and made it even more magical.

I also enjoyed the opening story, “Small Towns” by Felicity Shoulders. It struck me as a great mash up of the Pinnochio and Thumbelina stories, but with only using a dash of the originals. A fairy tale for grown-ups, it kept me guessing as to where it was headed.

Charles De Lint’s book review is always great, even if I don’t agree with his picks. And Paul Di Filippo’s “Plumage from Pegasus” made me laugh so hard I started snorting. I didn’t care for Elizabeth Hand’s column, Books, and to be honest it was a bit disconcerting to have an advertisement for another book on the page that was not being reviewed.

Bottom line: This collection of stories is well worth the cover price of the magazine. I’ll more than likely buy the next issue to come out. While I didn’t love every single story, there were enough great ones to more than make up for that. To be honest, I’ve bought short story collections of some authors to be sorely disappointed.

I was not disappointed this time.

One thought on “Magazine Review: Fantasy & Science Fiction

  1. Hi,
    My name is Chelsea Cohen, and I’m a student at Emerson College in Boston getting my MA in Publishing and Writing. I’m currently taking a class in Magazine Publishing and am profiling Fantasy and Science Fiction magazine for a paper I’m writing. I was wondering if it would be possible to interview you with a few short questions for my paper – I’m interested in your opinion because I can tell you’ve at least looked at this one issue closely. Any help you can give me would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for your time!

    Chelsea Cohen

Leave a Reply

