Just use the car seat

My son was in a car accident yesterday. His day care diva was driving them all home from picking her son up from science camp, and another lady rear-ended them going at about 35-40 miles per hour.

The accident made both the 6 & 10 o’clock news and a small article in the Stockton Record.

Three cars.

Two buses.

When I got the phone call telling me what was going on, I nearly collapsed. By the time I got to the ER, I was done barganing with God, my baby would be ok or there would be hell to pay.

My baby is perfectly fine. Or as fine as a five year old boy bouncing off the walls can be.

Waiting at the hospital,  I was told at least 3 times that what saved my child from serious bodily harm was the fact that even at 62 pounds I still had him in a car seat and so did his babysitter. Technicallly, he doesn’t need to be in one. He is about 4 feet tall and 62 pounds at 5 years old.

A little bit of cloth and hard plastic saved him from getting thrown about like a rag doll, even though the law states 6 years or 60 pounds.

 

So do us all a favor: Put your babies in a car seat as long as they will fit. They are not mini-adults, even once they hit the right weight. Do not let them sit in the front seat until you are certain sure that airbag won’t hurt them worse than an accident. And it’s later than you might think.

Just use the car seat. Lets save the babies, no matter how much of a big boy or girl they might be.

Because, after all, we are the adults.

It’s our job to keep them safe.

Leave a Reply

